AHEAD of the local elections next month six district councillors have announced they will not be standing.

Dennis Andrewartha has represented the Cam West ward on Stroud District Council for 14 years.

The father of three has been the Liberal Democrats group leader on SDC since 2005 and during his time on Gloucestershire County Council he was also the party’s deputy leader.

Daniel Le Fleming has represented Bisley on the council since he was first elected in 2002.

He is a member of the Conservative group and was chairman of the Licensing and Regulation Committee when the new Licensing Act was introduced in 2003.

Former leader of the district council Frances Roden is also not running for re-election on Thursday, May 22.

Cllr Roden (Con) has represented the Painswick ward since she was first elected in 2006 and served as leader of the council from November 2009 until 2012.

Graham Littleton (Con) has represented Hardwicke on the district council for 14 years and during his time served as chairman of the development control committee from 2004 to 2005 and 2011 to 2012.

Philip Booth (Green) has represented the Over Stroud ward on the council since May 2006.

Former Stroud mayor Andy Read was not up for re-election next month, however his seat is now up for grabs after he moved to France. Andy (Independent) has represented the Cainscross ward since May 2000.