Residents’ are being urged to vote in the local and European Parliament elections ahead of next week.

With local and European Parliament elections taking place on Thursday, May 22, Stroud District Council is urging residents to make sure that they are ready to cast their votes.

While polling cards have been sent to almost 90,000 of the district’s registered voters over the past week, the council is keen to ensure that anyone entitled to vote does not miss out.

David Hagg, Stroud District Council chief executive and returning officer for the local elections and local returning officer for the European Parliament elections, said: “If you have just moved into the district or moved house within the district, please do remember to register.

“It is not too late.”

The deadline for registering to vote is Tuesday, May 6. Residents can request a registration form by calling the Stroud District Council elections office, during office hours, on 01453 754886 or by printing off a registration form at The deadline for postal vote applications, or to amend a postal vote, is 5pm on Wednesday, May 7. Shortly after this date, on Friday, May 9, postal voting papers will be sent out to everyone who has requested this option.

The deadline to apply for a proxy vote, ie having someone place a vote on your behalf, is a week later, on 5pm Wednesday 14 May.

Forms can be downloaded from or be obtained by calling the elections office.

Mr Hagg added: “With the May Day bank holiday coming up just before the registration deadline, I would urge people to register sooner rather than later as we are always inundated with last minute requests.

“You can't vote if you're not registered, and contrary to what some people believe, you won't be automatically registered if you pay council tax.

“We urge all residents to ensure they are on the electoral roll as soon as possible in order to avoid any disappointment.”

Eighteen district council seats will be contested this year, as well as seats in some parish and town councils.

The list of candidates standing in local elections will be published later this week on Friday 25 April, so anyone still wishing to stand in the elections must ensure that their completed nominations are received by the returning officer by 4pm on Thursday, April 24. Anyone who is unsure if they are registered to vote should call the elections team on 01453 754886 or email Background information: District council elections are due to take place in: Berkeley Bisley Cainscross Cam East Cam West Central (By-election) Chalford Coaley and Uley Dursley Hardwicke Nailsworth Painswick Randwick, Whiteshill and Ruscombe Severn Stonehouse The Stanleys Vale Wotton-under-Edge Parish and town councils with vacancies are: Vacant Seats Alkington 7 Arlingham 7 Berkeley 9 Bisley (Bisley Ward) 4 Bisley (Eastcombe Ward) 4 Bisley (Oakridge Ward) 4 Chalford (Bussage Ward) 7 Chalford (Hill Ward) 6 Chalford (Valley Ward) 2 Coaley 7 Elmore 5 Frampton on Severn 9 Fretherne-with-Saul(Fretherne Ward) 2 Fretherne-with-Saul(Saul Ward) 5 Ham and Stone (Ham Ward) 2 Ham and Stone (Stone Ward) 5 Hamfallow 9 Hardwicke 11 Haresfield 6 Hinton 9 Longney and Epney 5 Nympsfield 5 Randwick (Lower Westrip Ward) 5 Randwick (Randwick Ward) 4 Slimbridge 7 Stinchcombe 5 Uley 7 Whiteshill and Ruscombe 9 Whitminster 7