All of Gloucestershire’s six Parliamentary constituencies are now blue after two political shocks last night in the General Election.

The Tories’ Siobhan Baillie was able to oust Labour’s David Drew in Stroud, while Cheltenham’s Liberal Democrat candidate Max Wilkinson lost by 700 votes to stop Conservative Alex Chalk being re-elected.

The final results means this is the first time Gloucestershire has been true blue, meaning all the county’s seats are represented by Tories, since 2010, when Neil Carmichael won Stroud.

Tewkesbury, Gloucester, Forest of Dean and The Cotswolds achieved comfortable Conservative holds.



Alex Chalk (Tory): 28,486

Max Wilkinson (LD): 27,505

George Penny (Lab): 2,921

George Ridgeon (MRLP): 445


Siobhan Baillie (Conservative): 31,582

David Drew (Labour): 27,742

Molly Scott Cato (Green): 4,954

Desi Latimer (Brexit Party): 1,085

Glenville Gogerly (Libertarian Party): 567

The Cotswolds

Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (Con): 35,484

Liz Webster (LD): 15,270

Alan MacKenzie (Lab): 7,110

Sabrina Poole (Green): 3,312


Laurence Robertson (Con): 35,728

Alex Hegenbarth (LD): 13,318

Lara Chaplin (Lab): 9,310

Cate Cody (Green): 2,784

Forest of Dean

Mark Harper (Con): 30,680

Di Martin (Lab): 14,811

Chris McFarling (Green): 4,681

Julian Burrett (Independent): 1,303


Richard Graham (Con): 29,159

Fran Boait (Lab): 18,882

Rebecca Trimnell (LD): 4,338

Michael Byfield (Green): 1,385


The Conservatives have won the biggest Tory majority since 1987 General Election.

Jeremy Corbyn says he will not lead the Labour Party in a future election. It is expected to have 203 MPs.

Liberal Democrat leader Jo Swinson loses her East Dunbartonshire seat to the SNP by 149 votes, and interim leadership of the party will pass to Ed Davey MP and Baroness Sal Brinton.

There will be a minor reshuffle on Monday and the Brexit bill will go before MPs next Friday.

The Tories have taken a string of former Labour strongholds such as Blyth, Darlington and Workington

The SNP are expected to advance strongly in Scotland, with 48 MPs projected

Predicted results put the Lib Dems on 12 seats, Green Party one, Plaid Cymru four, Brexit Party.