A co-operative alliance of three political parties will officially continue to lead Stroud District Council.

The Labour, Green and Liberal Democrat group appointed new committee chairs at their first meeting on May 20 in Stratford Park Leisure Centre.

Between them, the parties hold 31 of the 51 SDC seats, meaning they increased their control of the council in the May 6 election.

Councillor Doina Cornell (Labour) was re-elected as Leader of the Council, Cllr Catherine Braun (Green) elected as Deputy Leader of the Council.

"The Co-operative Alliance collectively returned more councillors, so we have strong continuity,” said Cllr Cornell.

“We work well together as parties and people, and we will continue to do so for every one of our residents and businesses.

“We have led the district through the pandemic with partners, and we are already working on recovery.”

The new committee chairs are as follows:

Strategy and Resources Committee

• Chair: Cllr Doina Cornell

• Vice-chair: Cllr Catherine Braun

Audit and Standards Committee

• Chair: Cllr Nigel Studdert-Kennedy (Conservative, No Group)

• Vice-chair: Cllr Martin Pearcy (Green)

Community Services & Licensing Committee

• Chair: Cllr Chris Brine (Lab)

• Vice-chair: Cllr Jonathan Edmunds (Green)

Development Control Committee

• Chair: Cllr Martin Baxendale (Green)

• Vice-chair: Cllr Trevor Hall (Lab)

Environment Committee

• Chair: Cllr Chloe Turner (Green)

• Vice-chair: Cllr Robin Layfield (Lab)

Housing Committee

• Chair: Cllr Mattie Ross (Lab)

• Vice-chair: Cllr Chris Jockel (Green)

Cllr Steve Robinson (Labour) was elected Council Chair, and Cllr Trevor Hall elected Vice Chair.

Cllr Braun said: “Almost half of the councillors elected are new to the council and this an exciting opportunity to bring fresh ideas to the table over the next three years. As well as responding to the immediate challenges, we’ll also be looking to the future and delivery of the District Council’s Carbon Neutral 2030 targets.”

Cllr Ken Tucker, Liberal Democrat Group Leader, added: “We have a stable administration for the next three years and the make-up of Administration reflects the diversity of our district.”

A co-operative alliance of Labour, Green and Liberal Democrat councillors has formed the administration of SDC since 2012.

The political make-up of the council is:

  • Conservative: 19 seats
  • Labour: 15
  • Green: 13
  • Liberal Democrat: 3
  • Conservative (No Group): 1

The election on May 6, 2021, was due to be held in May 2020 but was delayed by a year due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

That means the last term was five years instead of four, so the new current term will last three years.