The EFL has confirmed clubs have approved amendments to the summer transfer window which will see League One and League Two club be allowed to do business up until August 31. 

There will now be a split approach where the window will shut on the Thursday before the Premier League season commences for Championship clubs but will remain open to the rest of the EFL until the end of August. 

A statement on the EFL website said: "EFL Clubs have today confirmed their backing for a revised approach to the closure of the summer transfer window in voting through proposals that will introduce different transfer deadlines for Clubs in the Championship, and those in League One and League Two.

"Consultation with Clubs has been ongoing in recent weeks and months, with Clubs giving indicative support ahead of a formal vote at an Extraordinary General Meeting, held earlier today. 

The amendments to the Regulations mean the following: 

• The deadline for Championship Clubs for all incoming permanent and loan registrations closes at 5pm on the Thursday prior to the commencement of the Premier League season.

• A deadline of 31 August for League One and League Two Clubs for all permanent and loan registrations, thereby providing increased flexibility in relation to trading between Clubs in those two divisions.

EFL Chief Executive, Shaun Harvey added: “I’m pleased that the matter has been determined and thereby ensuring Clubs have sufficient time to prepare ahead of the summer transfer window opening in June.

"It is right that Clubs were given the opportunity to determine the direction of travel in order to come to a decision that benefitted their own individual transfer policies.”

Last summer, the transfer window shut on Thursday, August 9 but EFL clubs could make loan signings until August 31. 

Christian Doidge's ill-fated move to Bolton Wanderers was completed on the final day of the loan window.