THE new MP has been revealed for the area that includes Minchinhampton, Painswick and Standish.

Conservative Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown has become the first MP for the new North Cotswolds constituency.

Sir Geoffrey won the constituency with 17,426 votes in the 2024 UK general election, while Liberal Democrat Paul Hodgkinson came second with 14,069 votes.

The full results for the election for the North Cotswolds seat are as follows:

  • Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown, Conservative Party: 17,426
  • Jean Blackbeard, Independent: 448
  • Paul Hodgkinson, Liberal Democrats: 14,069
  • Anna Mainwaring, Labour Party: 8,593
  • Jason Preece, Reform UK: 6,502
  • Chloe Turner, Green Party: 3,191

The new constituency includes places near Stroud like Bisley, Slad, Edge, Pitchcombe and Oakridge.

Other areas include Birdlip, Moreton-in-Marsh, Stow-on-the-Wold and Chipping Campden as well as communities between Cheltenham and Gloucester (including Badgeworth, Brockworth, Churchdown and Shurdington). 

More to follow.